Google Groups
Subscribe to Free Admission Notification
Visit this group

Tuesday, June 7, 2011

Pune University Admission MBA MCA BA MA BSc BHMCT MSc MMM MMS LLM PhD MPhil MFA MOL

Pune University

There are very few universities left today which were established after Indian Government took over. Pune University formerly Poona University is one of such universities. It is one of the premier universities of India, established in 1949. The Pune University is spread over an area of over 400 acres and is currently hosting 46 different academic departments. It has been accredited with “A” rating by the National Assessment and Accreditation Council or NAAC for its overall performance.

Pune University – A glance at its past:
The Pune University was established the Poona University Act which was passed by Bombay Legislature in 1948. Mr. B. G. Kher who was the chief minister at that time allotted a large area of land for the establishment of Pune University, so as per his orders land of 411 acres was allotted to university. The area where the university is situated has historical significance. Some parts of the War of Khadki took place at the place where current Pone University is located.  The building which is used as the main building of university was built in 1864 which was being used as Governor’s house.

A look at the current status of university:
At the beginning, only 18 colleges were affiliated to the Pune University with only 8000 students enrolled to its courses, but later on gradually number of affiliated colleges increased and along with that number of students also increased. Today, there are more than 433 colleges, 232 research institutions and 41 graduate departments are affiliated to it with over 496,531 students enrolled for both graduate and under graduate courses in different faculties. Another famous institution, Dr. D. Y. Patil College of Engineering is also affiliated to the Pune University, which has the biggest intake of total 630 seats from bachelor’s degree in engineering. 

Courses Offered are:

Master of Arts (MA)
Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)
Master of Philosophy (MPhil)
Master of Oriental Learning (M.O.L)
Master of Fine Arts (MFA)
Bachelor of Arts (BA)
Advanced Diploma in Japanese, French, German, Russian
Diploma in Music
Master of Marketing Management (MMM)
Master of Management Sciences (MMS)
Bachelor of Hotel Management & Catering Technology (BHMCT)
Master of Business administration (MBA)
Master of Laws (LLM)
MA/MSc in Communication Studies
Bachelor of Science (BSc)
Master of Computer Applications(M.C.A)
Master of Science (MSc)
Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)
MA in  Sanskrit Linguistics
MA in  Indian Logic and Epistemology

For Details visit:

No comments: