Google Groups
Subscribe to Free Admission Notification
Visit this group

Friday, July 22, 2011

SNDT Women's University Admission MBA MCA MA BA BBA BCA BCom BSc

SNDT Women's University

Year 1896 marks start of the new era in history of the women’s education for India as Maharshi Dhondo Keshav Karve (Bharat Ratna) had established the ashram for widows as well as helpless women in Hingne near Pune. He understood that for making the women self- reliant, self-sufficient and self- confident, the education was necessary in the ashram. Maharshi Karve had launched a program for schooling in ashram, which later turned into the regular school for women and girls. In the society governed by the age-old customs as well as conservative attitudes for women, the institution of this kind was bound for facing economic and social difficulties. Maharshi Karve had the dream of establishing the women’s university. In the December 1915, Maharshi Karve, in his presidential lecture to National Social Reform Congress in Bombay, had announced his resolution to shape this dream into reality. In the 1916, first college began with enrolling five students that slowly took shape as the Women’s University.

Recognizing the groundbreaking work of the Maharshi Karve, the Vithaldas Thackersey made the openhanded donation of Rs. 15 lacs for remembrance of his mother named Shreemati Nathibai Thakersey. In 1920, this University was named SNDT (Shreemati Nathibai Damodar Thackersey) Women’s University. The vision of Maharshi Karve as well as the insight of the Vithaldas Thackersey guided to establishment of first Women’s University of India.

Contact Details

SNDT Women’s University has three campuses and their addresses are given below:

Mumbai Churchgate Campus
SNDT Women's University
Nathibai Thavkersey Road, 
New Marine Lines, 

Mumbai JUHU Campus
SNDT Women's University
Sir Vithaldas Vidyavihar,
JUHU Road, 
Santa Cruz (West), 

Pune Campus
SNDT Women's University,
Maharshi Karve Vidyavihar
Karve Road, 

Courses Offered by the University are: 
Bachelor of Arts (BA)
Master of Arts (MA) 
Master of Social Work (MSW)
Bachelor of Fine Arts (BFA)
Bachelor of Visual Arts (BVA)
Master of Fine Arts (MFA)
Master of Performing Arts (MPA)
Master of Visual Arts (MVA)
Bachelor of Library and Information Science (BLISc)
Master of Library and Information Science (MLISc)
Bachelor of Physical Education (BPEd)
Bachelor of Education (BEd)
BA BEd (Integrated)
Bachelor of Physical Education (BPEd)
Master of Physical Education (MPEd)
Master of Education (MEd)
Bachelor of Science (BSc)
Master of Science (MSc)
Bachelor of Commerce (BCom)
Master of Commerce (MCom)
Bachelor of Science (BSc Nursing)
Bachelor of Physiotherapy (BPT)
Bachelor of Computer Applications (BCA)
Bachelor of Technology (BTech)
Bachelor of Pharmacy (BPharm)
Master of Computer Applications (MCA)
Bachelor of Management Studies (BMS)
MSc Nursing

For details visit:

No comments: