Google Groups
Subscribe to Free Admission Notification
Visit this group

Friday, February 11, 2011

Shivaji University Admission BA MA MBA MCA BBA BCA BEd BSc BCom MCom MSW MSc MEd

Shivaji University Admission 
In the year 1962, Shivaji University appeared it is named after the great Maratha warrior Chhatrapati Shivaji. Honorable President of India Dr. S. Radhakrishnan inaugurated the university on 18 November 1962. The objective of this university is to serve the regional needs of education in south Maharashtra. University controls over three districts namely Sangli, Kolhapur and Satara. Under the university, more than 225 colleges are affiliated and 200000 students are enrolled getting higher education.

This particular region is a pool of varied cultural and social communities. At the beginning of this century under the guidance of Chhatrapati Shahu Maharaj this region was a prominent destination of equal educational opportunities for all communities and classes of South western Maharashtra and some northern outskirts of state Karnataka. From this land, Karmaveer Bhaurao Patil came up and struggled for education for the rural masses by his inventive ‘Earn and Learn Scheme’.

When Shivaji University was founded in the year 1962, the prime focus set in front of the university was to ensure equal education opportunities to rural youth, conducting applied and fundamental research in the discipline of humanities and science and to make sure regional growth and development is happening simultaneously.

At the time of its inception, university began functioning with 34 affiliated colleges and about 14000 students however today the number of affiliated colleges raise to 225 and the strength of students are more than 200000. In the beginning, university was having five PG departments on campus but today it has about 34 PG programmes. University offers 10 major streams for the students like Science, Arts, Social Science, Commerce, Medicine, Fine Arts, Education, Engineering, Ayurvedic Medicine and Law.

Shivaji University has approval from all major educational bodies of the nation and it receives funding from agencies like UGC, DBT etc. They also have collaborations with major industries or leading institutes.  

Following are some of the courses offered by the University:

Bachelor of Arts (BA)
Master of Arts (MA)
Bachelor of Commerce (BCom)
Master of Commerce (MCom)
Bachelor of Science (BSc)
Master of Science (MSc) 
Master of Business Administration (MBA)
Bachelor of Business Administration (BBA)
Bachelor of Computer Application (BCA)
Master of Computer Application (MCA)
Bachelor of Education (BEd)
Master of Education (MEd)
Master of Social Work (MSW) 

For more information visit:

No comments: